The purpose of SODA is to respond to issues and concerns for the aging population, rural fires defense, local economic development, housing and other funding for rural community special needs.  SODA’s resources include, but are not limited to, membership dues from participating local governments, State and Federal Grants and contracts with local governments to secure and administer grants.


To enhance the quality of life and competitive advantages of southern Oklahoma region by providing a forum for consensus building, policy-making, and implementing regional policies, plans and programs to improve the local communities.


SODA’s vision is to be a high performance organization applying creative solutions to our community issues, making our ten county area a region that EXCELS as the place to


Southern Oklahoma Development Association (SODA) was incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1957.  In 1967, SODA received designation from the State of Oklahoma as an Economic Development District pursuant to the Inter-local Cooperation Act of 1965 (74 O.S. (1965) 1001) and the United States Department of Commerce pursuant to Title IV of the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965 (79 Stat. 569).

In 1971, SODA was appointed by Executive Order from the Governor of the State of Oklahoma as a Sub-State Planning District to enable governmental entities in south-central Oklahoma to better provide services, assistance, and information to their citizens.  SODA is one of eleven statewide Councils of Government (COG) or Sub-State Planning Districts in the State of Oklahoma.

SODA is governed by its Board of Directors, comprised of representatives of the cities and towns, counties and soil conservation districts from the SODA ten county region comprised of Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Garvin, Johnston, Love, Marshall, Murray and Pontotoc counties.  The Board of Directors is responsible for setting the policies, goals and direction of the organization and its activities, and is responsible for employment of the Executive Director, who is responsible for carrying out the policies set by the Board of Directors.