

Board of DirectorsRegular Meeting

August 18, 2023

MEETING BRIEFING

The SODA Board of Directors met for its regular bi-monthly meeting on August 18, 2023, at Southern Tech in Ardmore, Oklahoma.

New Board Members and New SODA Employees

The City of Wynnewood has appointed John Smeltzer, Wynnewood Council Member, as its representative to the SODA Board of Directors.

Todd O'Neal has been employed by SODA as a Mobility Navigator for the new Mobility Management program serving Atoka, Bryan, Coal, and Johnston Counties.

FY 2024 CENA Awards

The SODA Board of Directors approved FY 2024 CENA awards totaling \$260,364 to 33 independent/non-Title III senior centers in the SODA service area including \$12,684 set aside for emergency or supplemental funding.

\$CORTPO Expansion

The SODA Board of Directors ratified the expansion of the South-Central Regional Transportation Planning Organization (SCORTPO) to include all 17 counties in the SODA and KEDDO regions in southeastern Oklahoma.

SODA Conference and Emergency Operations Center

The SODA Board of Directors awarded a construction contract to Mid-Plains Construction, Inc. of Durant, OK in the amount of \$1,031,000 for construction of the SODA Conference and Emergency Operations Center and remodeling of the conference room and reception area in the existing SODA office building. A grant from the Economic Development Administration will fund 60% of the project.

Continued on other side >

SODA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

DIRECTOR NAME AFFILIATION

Sammie Adams Bryan Co. Conservation District

Gary Ayers

Brandon Carr

Scott Chaney (Secretary/Treasurer)

Cacy Cribbs (Vice President)

Garvin County

Bryan County

City of Marietta

Johnston County

Johnnie Crutchfield Arbuckle Conservation District

Danny Delay City of Atoka

Kit Dinwiddie Love Co. Conservation District

James Eldridge City of Ada

Rick Ellis Coal Co. Conservation District
Mike Foster Garvin Co. Conservation District

James Fullingim

Ricky Harness

Darrell Hudson

Linda Hyman

Jon Fortner

City of Madill

City of Davis

Murray County

Love County

Coal County

Lee Litterell

Kristi McElroy (President)

Joe David McReynolds (Past President)

City of Pauls Valley

City of Ardmore

Carter County

Don "Salty" Melton Marshall County

Diane Niblett Johnston Co. Conservation District

Ian O'NealCity of Lone GroveJohn RedmanChoctaw NationEthan SettlemireAtoka County

John Smeltzer City of Wynnewood
Gary Starns Pontotoc County
Bob Stick Chickasaw Nation
Vacant City of Calera

Vacant
City of Coalgate
Vacant
City of Durant
City of Healdton
Vacant
City of Lindsay
City of Sulphur
Vacant
City of Tishomingo

FY 2024 CENA AWARDS		
Name of Senior Center	County	Award Amount
Antioch Community Association Senior Center	Garvin	\$3,600.00
Bentley Community Senior Center	Atoka	\$3,300.00
Boehler-Crystal-Sunkist Senior and Community Center	Atoka	\$4,300.00
Bokchito Senior Citizens Center, Inc.	Bryan	\$3,600.00
Calera Community Outreach Center	Bryan	\$22,100.00
Cartwright Community Resource and Event Center	Bryan	\$8,700.00
Clarita Community Center	Coal	\$5,000.00
Colbert Senior Citizens Center	Bryan	\$22,100.00
Connerville Senior Citizens Center	Johnston	\$4,300.00
Davis Senior Center	Murray	\$22,100.00
Dougherty Senior Citizens Center	Murray	\$8,700.00
Farris Senior/Community Center	Atoka	\$4,300.00
Kemp Community Center	Bryan	\$4,300.00
Lane Senior Center	Atoka	\$1,500.00
Lebanon Senior Citizens Center	Marshall	\$3,500.00
Lone Grove Senior Center	Carter	\$16,300.00
Maysville Senior Citizens Association	Garvin	\$5,280.00
Mead Community Center	Bryan	\$8,700.00
Mill Creek	Johnston	\$8,700.00
Oak Grove Sr Citizens Center	Murray	\$4,300.00
Paoli Senior Citizens & Museum	Garvin	\$7,050.00
Pontotoc Senior Citizens Center	Johnston	\$3,240.00
Ravia Senior Center	Johnston	\$4,300.00
Ray Smith Memorial	Marshall	\$4,700.00
Reagan Sr Citizens Center	Johnston	\$4,900.00
Roff Senior Center, Inc.	Pontotoc	\$11,500.00
Shay Community Center	Marshall	\$5,000.00
Springdale Community Center	Carter	\$4,100.00
Stonewall Senior Citizens Center	Pontotoc	\$12,900.00
Thackerville Senior Citizens Center	Love	\$4,000.00
Tupelo Community Center	Coal	\$5,975.00
Wade Albany Senior Citizen Center	Bryan	\$7,635.00
Wynnewood Sen Citizens Center	Garvin	\$7,700.00
Total Senior Center Grant Awards		\$247,680.00
Emergency/Supplemental Funding		\$12,684.00
Total CENA Awards		\$260,364.00



RESOLUTION 24-001

A RESOLUTION OF SOUTHERN OKLAHOMA DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION EXPANDING THE SOUTH CENTRAL OKLAHOMA REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION ORGANIZATION (SCORTPO)

WHEREAS, the counties and communities of south central and southeastern Oklahoma have expressed a willingness and desire to convene and discuss transportation needs and goals in the seventeen (17) county region of the Southern Oklahoma Development Association (SODA) and the Kiamichi Economic Development District of Oklahoma (KEDDO), and

WHEREAS, regional transportation planning is encouraged by federal legislation and administered through the Federal Highway Administration, and

WHEREAS, SCORTPO is a regional transportation planning organization created by SODA and recognized by the Oklahoma Department of Transportation, and

WHEREAS, the SODA Board of Directors seeks to facilitate the multimodal transportation planning process for roads and highway, rail, waterway and air transportation to facilitate economic development, workforce development, business and industry growth, recreation and tourism, agriculture and other pursuits in the region:

BE IT RESOLVED, by the SODA Board of Directors does hereby expand SCORTPO to include all the counties that comprise the SODA region and all the counties that comprise the KEDDO region.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have signed my name and affixed the corporate seal of this corporation. this 18th day of August, 2023.

Kristi McElroy Scott Chaney Scott Chaney

Kristi McElroy, President Scott Chaney, Secretary-Treasurer

The next SODA Board of Directors regularly scheduled meeting is October 27, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. at Murray State College in Tishomingo.

Visit the SODA website for more information about SODA programs and services at <u>www.soda-ok.org</u>.

