

\$OUTHERN OKLAHOMA DEVELOPMENT A\$\$OCIATION Board of Directors Meeting August 28, 2020

MEETING BRIEFING

The SODA Board of Directors met for its regular August meeting at Southern Tech in Ardmore, Oklahoma. Attendance at the meeting was both in-person and by videoconference.

New Board Members

Beryl Sears representing the Bryan County Conservation District replaces Clay Jones, Atoka City Manager Danny replaces Joye Angel and Lindsay City Manager Tom Inman replaces Stephen Mills as new members of the SODA Board of Directors effective at this meeting.

\$ODA Bylaws Revision

The SODA Board of Directors adopted a change in its bylaws to combine the Board Officer positions of Secretary and Treasurer into one Secretary-Treasurer position. Current Secretary, Kristi McElroy representing the City of Ardmore will become the Secretary-Treasurer.

EDA Grant Submission

The SODA Board of Directors approved submitting a grant application to the U.S. Department of Commerce Economic Development Administration (EDA) for an expansion of its current facilities with the construction of a Conference and Emergency Management Center. The project includes the construction of a 2,688 sq. ft. facility and expanded roadway and parking.

The Board approved the submission of a grant application not to exceed \$750,000 in order to keep the 20% match required by SODA within affordability limits.

Continued on other side \rightarrow

SONP Appeal of Home-Delivered Meals Contract

Southern Oklahoma Nutrition Program (SONP) appealed the Board of Directors' decision to award the FY 21 Home-Delivered Meals contract to Mom's Meals. An appeal hearing was held on July 29, 2020 for SONP to present its case. The SODA Board of Directors voted to deny the appeal.

AAA RFP Review Committee

In response to the SONP appeal the SODA Board of Directors voted to authorize the President to appoint a Board Committee to review the AAA RFP document and related procedures and make recommendations for revisions prior to the release of the next AAA RFP. Kristi McElroy was named the Chair of the Committee.

<< The next SODA Board of Directors meeting is scheduled for October 22, 2020>>

SODA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

DIRECTOR NAMEAFFILIATIONGary AyersGarvin CountyScott ChaneyCity of Marietta

Johnnie Crutchfield Arbuckle Conservation District

John DeanCity of DurantDanny DelayCity of AtokaJames EldridgeCity of Ada

Rick Ellis Coal Co. Conservation District

James Frizell

James Fullingim

Richard Hart

City of Pauls Valley

City of Madill

City of Coalgate

Darrell Hudson
Linda Hyman (President)
Tom Inman
Sally Jantz
Nick Lee
Coal County
Kristi McElroy (Secretary/Treasurer)
Joe David McReynolds (Vice President)

Murray County
Love County
City of Lindsay
City of Healdton
Coal County
City of Ardmore
Carter County

Don "Salty" Melton
Ian O'Neal
Jay Perry
John Redman

Marshall County
City of Lone Grove
Bryan County
Choctaw Nation

Beryl Sears Bryan Co. Conservation District

Gary Starns Pontotoc County
Bob Stick Chickasaw Nation
Mike Thompson Johnston County
Shane Tomlinson Atoka County